Councillors meet regularly to agree policies and make important decisions. Some decisions can only be made at a meeting of the full Town Council (for example, setting the share of the Council Tax, known as “the precept”). Others decisions can be made by committees. Day-to-day decisions are usually made by the Town Clerk and other Council staff. 

In addition, the Town Council has formed 4 Committees to oversee different aspects of the Council’s affairs. These Committees meet regularly.

Each Committee has ‘terms of reference’ which describe the types of Council business that can be discussed at meetings and what matters it can make decisions about.

Asset Management & Open Spaces Committee

Personnel Committee

Planning & Highways Committee

Policy & Finance Committee